Deadline: June 15, 2018

Entry Guidelines - Coming Soon!


Past Winners

Museum Publications Design Competition

All museums are eligible to enter the Alliance's annual design competition. 


  • Publications must be produced between Jan. 1–Dec. 31, 2017.
  • Any noncommercial cultural institution offering exhibits to the public may participate.
  • Commercial designers, galleries and publishing interests are not eligible.
  • Entrants need not be Alliance members.
  • A publication is defined as material reproduced in printed form for distribution to the public.
  • Only the finished product is submissible (no mock-ups or proofs).
  • Slides, transparencies and photographs of entries are not eligible.

About the Competition

For more than 27 years, the Alliance has recognized and encouraged for superior execution and ingenuity in the graphic design of museum publications through the Museum Publications Design Competition, the only national, juried competition of its kind. Winners are chosen for their overall design excellence, creativity and ability to express an institution’s personality, mission or special features. The panel of judges includes graphic designers, museum professionals and/or publishers.

Judges award the Frances Smyth-Ravenel Prize for Excellence in Publication Design to the best publication in the competition. The judges have sole authority over all decisions, including whether or not to award prizes in each of the entry categories.

This year, judges will also be recognizing entries in any category that offer creative solutions and/or innovation regardless of institutional budget size.

Competing institutions are divided according to budget: museums with annual operating budgets under $750,000 and those with budgets of $750,000 or more.